Now Reading
Muafakat Nasional & Perikatan Nasional: What’s The Difference?

Muafakat Nasional & Perikatan Nasional: What’s The Difference?

A breakdown between the two coalitions.

Hakim Hassan

Subscribe to our new Telegram channel for the latest updates.

Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) is now part of Muafakat Nasional (MN).

This was confirmed by MN/Barisan Secretary General Tan Sri Annuar Musa that the coalition – comprised of Parti Islam SeMalaysia (PAS) and the United Malays National Organisation (UMNO) will be accepting Bersatu.

This matter has been discussed carefully and in depth by the MN Steering Committee, co-chaired by UMNO Deputy President, Datuk Seri Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan and PAS Deputy President, Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man on 6 August 2020. Following that, an official letter was sent on 13 August 2020. The official answer to Bersatu’s readiness to join MN was received on 18 August 2020 signed by Bersatu leader, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Barisan/Muafakat Nasional Secretary General Tan Sri Annuar Musa via Sinar Harian

So what is Muafakat Nasional?

It’s the coalition of Pas and Umno created at the end of 2019 with the purpose of taking the former goverment, Pakatan Harapan (PH) for the next General Election – that was until the ruling party imploded.

With the addition of Bersatu, here are the parties under MN:

  • UMNO
  • PAS
  • Bersatu

But what about Perikatan Nasional? The party coalition that Umno left just a month ago?

Here are the original component parties for PN in May:

  • Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu)
  • Barisan Nasional (BN)
    • UMNO
    • Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC)
    • Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA)
  • PAS
  • Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS)
  • Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS)
  • Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (STAR)

They have been the ruling coalition in the country with Bersatu President, Muhyiddin Yassin as Prime Minister after the resignation of Former Prime Minsiter Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

PN maintains a slim majority in Parliament, with 111 Members of Parliament (MPs) out of 222.

According to reports, after the departure of Umno, Perikatan will only have 5 component parties, which includes BN’s component parties while Pas and MIC has confirmed that they will remain in the coalition.

For more updates, follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram!

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

three × two =

© 2020 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved.