Now Reading
Travel Ban On 8 Countries Lifted, KKM Advise To Delay Travelling To High-Risk Countries

Travel Ban On 8 Countries Lifted, KKM Advise To Delay Travelling To High-Risk Countries

The eight countries are now included in the list of high-risk countries.

Adeline Leong

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Malaysia has lifted the temporary travel ban against eight countries that were previously enforced when news of the Omicron variant emerged.

The eight countries – South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe and Malawi – are now included in the list of high-risk countries.

The current list of high-risk countries includes:

  • Australia
  • United States of America
  • United Kingdom
  • Norway
  • France
  • Denmark
  • Canada
  • Nigeria
  • India
  • Saudi Arabia
  • South Africa
  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Zimbabwe
  • Malawi

According to New Straits Times, Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin said travellers from these 18 countries would be fitted with a digital tracker (image below) upon arriving in Malaysia and throughout the quarantine period.

The Health Ministry (KKM) also urged everyone to delay their travel to these countries due to the risks involved.

If possible, avoid unnecessary travel to these 18 countries because it is very risky and dangerous; wait until the situation stabilises.

Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin

For those who plan to usher in the New Year in group settings, they are advised to do a self-test before attending any event, especially if they’re going to celebrate with people from other households.

This is very important to control the spread of Omicron. Omicron is already here, we want to slow it down.

Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin

Travelling from high-risk countries?

If you’re travelling from any of the high-risk countries listed, here’s the protocol to take note of:

  • Undergo RT-PCR 2 days before departure.
  • Take RT-PCR test on arrival.
  • Wear the provided digital tracker on the wrist on arrival.
  • Mandatory quarantine for 7 days (fully vaccinated) or 10 days (unvaccinated).
  • Quarantine will be at home or at a designated quarantine station depending on Home Quarantine Application status.
  • Undergo RT-PCR test on Day 5 (for 7-day quarantine) or on Day 8 (for 10-day quarantine).
  • Risk assessment will be done on the last day of quarantine (Day 7 or Day 10). Quarantine will be extended if symptomatic.
  • If you tested negative for Covid-19 on Day 5 or Day 8, you’ll be released from quarantine on Day 8 or Day 11.
  • For UK travellers, undergo daily RTK-Ag self-test during quarantine and report test results on MySejahtera.

Share your thoughts with us via TRP’s FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd