Now Reading
PKR’s Johari Abdul is New Dewan Rakyat Speaker

PKR’s Johari Abdul is New Dewan Rakyat Speaker

Johari Abdul takes over the post of Dewan Rakyat Speaker from Art Harun.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Securing 147 votes, former Gurun assemblyman Datuk Seri Johari Abdul is now the new Dewan Rakyat Speaker.

He takes over the post from Tan Sri Azhar Azizan Harun or Art Harun.

Johari, who is also the former chairman of Kedah PKR, was nominated by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

In a Facebook update on the first sitting of the first session of the 15th Parliament, Subang MP Wong Chen said the Opposition’s Speaker candidate, Tan Sri Radzi Sheikh Ahmad managed 74 votes.

One member of Parliament however was not present during the voting.

Johari was nominated by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim on behalf of the ruling government.

Over the weekend, Johari took to Facebook to announce his resignation as Gurun assemblyman.

He won the seat in the 14th General Election (GE14) in 2018. Johari, who also held the Sungai Petani parliamentary seat did not seek for reelection in GE15.

The Kedah state assembly was not dissolved during GE15.

Johari said his letter of resignation was received by the Kedah state assembly speaker on 13 December. He however did not state his reason for resigning at the time.

Share your thoughts with us via TRP’s FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd