Now Reading
Penang DAP Left Out As None Of Its 7 MPs Appointed As Ministers

Penang DAP Left Out As None Of Its 7 MPs Appointed As Ministers

Penang Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow expressed regret but accepted the decision as PM’s prerogative.

Fernando Fong

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Penang DAP chairman Chow Kon Yeow said the Penang DAP has seven MPs, but none of them could join the new Cabinet formed yesterday (2 December).

Sin Chew reported that Chow, also Penang’s chief minister, regretted the situation.

Nevertheless, he acknowledged that the appointment of ministers is the Prime Minister’s prerogative.

He said that though DAP did get four ministers, its partner PKR got twice as many ministers despite winning fewer seats, which felt unbalanced.

In the 15th General Election (GE15), PKR won 31 seats, while DAP was the biggest in Pakatan Harapan (PH) with 40 seats.

Chow made the remark today (3 December) after attending the ground-breaking ceremony for a new school in Batu Kawan, his Parliamentary constituency.

He also opined that if the Cabinet is smaller, the proportion of seats allocated to all ruling parties should also reduce, so there will be a balance.

This is the initial reflection and opinion of the Penang DAP on the formation of the new cabinet.

Penang DAP chairman Chow Kon Yeow on the latest Cabinet lineup.

READ MORE: Losers Become Winners In Anwar’s 28-Minister Cabinet

Penang DAP is not alone, as Sarawak DAP was also left out of the minister’s post.

Focus On Serving The Rakyat

Netizens said DAP should not fret as MPs can still do their job to take care of the rakyat even if they are not appointed ministers.

Political analyst James Chin said it’s not as bad as it seems because many other positions are still available.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim appointed Barisan Nasional (BN) Chairman Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi as Deputy Prime Minister I and Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) Datuk Seri Fadhillah Yusof as Deputy Prime Minister II.

The PH chairman said the Cabinet would consist of 28 ministers in 22 ministries and four portfolios in the Prime Minister’s Department.

READ MORE: [UPDATED WITH FULL LIST] Anwar Announces Cabinet Line-Up, Zahid Makes DPM

Share your thoughts with us via TRP’s FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd