Now Reading
All MPs To Submit One Candidate For PM To Istana Negara By Wednesday

All MPs To Submit One Candidate For PM To Istana Negara By Wednesday

Yang di-Pertuan Speaker of Dewan Rakyat issued the notice in line with the decree of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong

Azizul Rahman Ismail

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun issued a letter today, to every Member of Parliament (MP) in the lower house requesting for their candidate for the next Prime Minister.

The notice, written by the Speaker of Dewan Rakyat, is following the order of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong who implemented Article 43(2)(a) in the Federal Constitution.

The item calls for one MP, in the grace of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, that has the majority support from the MP, to be named as Prime Minister of Malaysia. 

In the notice, Azhar requests that each MP sends a letter that clearly states one PM that they entrust to become Malaysia’s 9th Prime Minister. 

Each MPs declaration letter must be submitted to the Istana Negara before 4pm,  Wednesday, 18 August.

The letter has to be faxed, emailed, or a copy of the PDF sent via Whatsapp. 

Hand delivery is not allowed. 

Each letter must follow the guidelines that Azhar mentioned or it will not be counted. 

Above all else, each declaration letter must be kept confidential.

Share your thoughts with us via TRP’s FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

twenty + seventeen =

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd