Now Reading
Kuantan Is Now A City, Making It The 17th City In Malaysia

Kuantan Is Now A City, Making It The 17th City In Malaysia

Malaysia officially has 17 cities now.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah announced that Kuantan is now a city, joining the growing list of Malaysia’s urban populations.

Kuantan Municipal Council president Datuk Hamdan Hussin will be the first Kuantan Mayor, as decreed by His Majesty.

The King will also open Menara Kuantan 188 and Jambatan Putra later tonight. Menara Kuantan 188 will be Malaysia’s second-tallest tower, while Jambatan Putra will link Bandar Putra in Tanjung Lumpur with the Kuantan city centre.

Approval to change the status of Kuantan to a city was decided by the Federal government during a Cabinet meeting on 8 May 2019.

Last year, Seremban and Subang Jaya made similar leaps to city-status in Malaysia’s rapid urbanization.

Kuantan also reached all of the criteria to achieve city-status.

According to the 2010 census, Kuantan has a population of around 427,515. Additionally, Kuantan is also the administrative and commercial capital of Pahang, with a main focus in tourism and local crafts. The city also has adequate facilities for its residents, including hospitals, higher education institutions, entertainment centers, and more.

READ MORE: Bye-Bye Kampung? Malaysia Is Leading The Urbanisation Race In East Asia

Share with us your thoughts on our FacebookTwitter and Instagram.TAGS

Get more stories like this to your inbox by signing up for our newsletter.

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd