Now Reading
Perak Government Falls After MB Loses Vote Of Confidence 48-10

Perak Government Falls After MB Loses Vote Of Confidence 48-10

He has been the MB there since May 12, 2018 and survived the BERSATU-PH split.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu is no longer Menteri Besar of Perak after receiving the support of only 10 out of 59 assemblyman during a vote of confidence.

One assemblyman abstained and a whopping 48 voted against Ahmad Faizal (PN-Chenderiang) who is from Bersatu.

Furthermore, it would appear that the lack of support crosses the political aisle as the vote was initiated by Aznel Ibrahim (BN/UMNO-Pengkalan Bharu) and Howard Lee Chuan How (HARAPAN-Pasir Pinji).

Despite this, it appears that Ahmad Faizal has handled the situation well as Malaysiakini reports that he promised a smooth transition, thanked all assemblymen and even addressed his former allies in PH directly.

“I miss you guys sometimes actually, seriously,” he said.

In the State Assembly, BN/UMNO have the most seats with 25, followed by DAP with 16, PN have 8 (consisting of 5 from BERSATU and 3 from PAS), AMANAH have 5, PKR have 3, GERAKAN have 1 and there’s also 1 independent assemblyman.

Share your thoughts with us on TRP’s FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Get more stories like this to your inbox by signing up for our newsletter.

© 2024 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd