Now Reading
GRS Coalition Won! Sabah Now Has A New State Government

GRS Coalition Won! Sabah Now Has A New State Government

GRS won majority seats.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) has emerged victorious in the 16th Sabah state elections, claiming a majority of 38 out of 73 state assembly seats.

The official results were announced by the Elections Commission (SPR) at close to midnight on September 26, 2020.

Warisan+ is reported to have gained 31 seats with 3 other seats won by independent candidates.


Sabah now has a new State Government under the Perikatan Nasional (PN) leadership, lead by Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

Sabah would also welcome a new Chief Minister who is yet to be decided.

Election ballots were cast from 7 am to 5 pm, and according to the SPR, 58% out of a total of 1,088,711 eligible voters in Sabah turned up for polling day, with another 14,935 votes cast by mail.

Share your thoughts with us on TRP’s FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Get more stories like this to your inbox by signing up for our newsletter.

© 2024 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd