Now Reading
(UNOFFICIAL) Gabungan Rakyat Sabah To Replace Warisan+ As State Government

(UNOFFICIAL) Gabungan Rakyat Sabah To Replace Warisan+ As State Government

Well be back with updates on the final results of the election.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Multiple news outlets are declaring that the Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) coalition has won sufficient seats to form a new State Government in the 16th Sabah state elections, on September 26, 2020.

Reportedly, Sabah BN Chairman Datuk Seri Bung Moktar Radin had also claimed victory and announced that GRS was leading in the polls.

However, Perikatan Nasional (PN) Secretary-General Hamzah Zainuddin had earlier mentioned that the coalition would await the final results of the elections, expected to come in later.

73 seats were contested in the elections with 37 seats needed for a simple majority.

The GRS coalition made up of candidates from PN, Barisan Nasional, and Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) were reported to be leading the polls with 35 seats ahead of Warisan+ which is said to have won 20 thus far.

Unofficially, key GRS candidates are said to have won their respective seats.

Bung Moktar reportedly won the state seat in Lamag, while Sabah Bersatu Chief Datuk Hajiji Mohd Noor won the state seat in Sulaman.

Meanwhile, PN’s Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (Star) President Datuk Dr. Jeffrey Kitingan was said to have retained his seat in Tambunan, while Parti Peribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM) Deputy Chairman Datuk Seri Masidi Manjun won the seat in Karanaan.

Election ballots were cast from 7 am to 5 pm, and according to the Malaysian Elections Commission (SPR), 58% out of a total of 1,088,711 eligible voters in Sabah turned up for polling day, with another 14,935 votes cast by mail.

Official results are still being tallied.

More to come…

Share your thoughts with us on TRP’s FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Get more stories like this to your inbox by signing up for our newsletter.

© 2024 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd