Now Reading
Sabah Bars Visitors From States With Active Clusters, While Sarawak Only Requires Overseas Travellers To Quarantine

Sabah Bars Visitors From States With Active Clusters, While Sarawak Only Requires Overseas Travellers To Quarantine

New rules in the second phase of RMCO.

Tasneem Nazari

This article previously had a misleading title. It has since been updated to reflect the correct information.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

East Malaysia are exercising their right to control visitors entering their states during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal has announced that anyone from states with active Covid-19 clusters will be prohibited from entering Sabah.

He said airport authorities are required to have functioning thermal sensors and provide hand sanitiser, adding that these measures were to prevent the transmission of Covid-19 in Sabah.

We are monitoring the Covid-19 trends and cases every day, like the one in the Lahad Datu lockup, we are keeping a close watch.

Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal via The Star Online
Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal (Credit: Malay Mail)

He was referring to the new cluster detected at the Lahad Datu police headquarters, where 7 detainees have tested positive for Covid-19.

On the upcoming state elections, Shafie instructed all officials involved to be equipped with face masks, hand sanitisers, and to practice physical distancing until the end of the event.

For campaigns and related programmes leading to the coming state elections, please make sure SOPs are abided by strictly

Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal via The Star Online

He said the state government has prepared 10 million face masks and hand sanitisers for district and polling officials use during the election period.

Meanwhile, Sarawak still requires anyone entering from overseas, including returning Sarawakians, to undergo the mandatory 14-day quarantine and the Covid-19 swab test.

The quarantine cost for returning Sarawakians from overseas will be fully borne by the state government, while for non-Sarawakians the cost will be at their own expense.

Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob via Malay Mail
Credit: Facebook/Ismail Sabri Yaakob

Whereas, Malaysians from the peninsular, Sabah, and Labuan will no longer need to quarantine anymore says Senior Minister (Defense) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

Instead, they must fill in the E-Health Declaration Form prior to entering the state.

Last week, the Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) Secretariat announced updated procedures for entering Sarawak. 

These updated procedures mean that Malaysians travelling domestically to Sarawak will no longer be required to fill up the Enter Sarawak form. Instead, only the E-Health Declaration Form will be used.

However, foreigners and Malaysians from overseas countries have to fill in both forms.

Share your thoughts with us on TRP’s Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd