Now Reading
Malaysia Bans Indian, Indonesian & Philippines Pass Holders From Entering Due To Covid-19

Malaysia Bans Indian, Indonesian & Philippines Pass Holders From Entering Due To Covid-19

The ban is effective from 7 September.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Senior Minister (Defence) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced that the government has banned the entry of long-term pass holders from India, Indonesia and the Philippines into the country from 7 September onwards.

Speaking to reporters at the Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO) press conference on 1st September, the Senior Minister explained that that the decision was made following the advice of the Health Ministry to contain the spread of Covid-19 locally, as the three countries had high numbers of infections.

Credit: Malay Mail

This restriction would cover several types of visas including:

  • Permanent Residents (PR)
  • Malaysia My Second Home Pass holders (MM2H)
  • Expatriates in all categories including Professional Visit Pass (PLIK)
  • Resident Pass
  • Spouses of Malaysian citizens (Spouse Visa)
  • Student visa

He also stated that the government is monitoring the situation in other countries, especially with concerns that the upcoming colder months could lead to a spike in Covid-19 cases. If so, the government could expand these entry restrictions to include other countries.

However, he also reassured that Malaysians returning from the three countries will still be able to return.

Over the long weekend, social media was abuzz when Malaysians departing the country shared that they were asked to sign a declaration that they would not return as long as the MCO is in place.

We cannot stop them from coming back as it goes against the Constitution. The Immigration Act also cannot prevent our citizens from returning.

Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob, Senior Minister (Defence).

Watch the press conference below:

Share your thoughts with us on TRP’s Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Get more stories like this to your inbox by signing up for our newsletter.

© 2024 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd