Now Reading
Mandatory Quarantine At Designated Hotels For Everyone Entering Sarawak

Mandatory Quarantine At Designated Hotels For Everyone Entering Sarawak

Kirat Kaur

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest updates on Covid-19 and other issues.

Anyone entering the state of Sarawak will be required to undergo 14-days quarantine at designated hotels within the state.

What you need to know: The mandatory quarantine will take place at designated hotels at the travellers’ final destination. Travellers would have their samples taken on the second day of their quarantine, and would only be released if test results are negative of Covid-19. The quarantine directive includes Malaysians who are travelling from the peninsula, Sabah and Labuan.

Who said what: Sarawak state Disaster Management Committee chairman Datuk Douglas Uggah Embas said that the mandatory quarantine will take effect from 1 August until 14 August. The committee is also considering stricter Covid-19 measures such as inter-district travel ban, reducing the number of commercial flights and limiting business operating hours but no decision has been made yet.

Why it matters: Tertiary students and teachers have begun returning to campuses in phases this July, largely travelling by flight between East and West Malaysia with special discounts offered by local airlines. The mass interstate travel is expected to continue until students fully return to their respective campuses in October.

Read more:

M’sians entering S’wak to undergo compulsory quarantine at designated hotels effective Aug 1 (The Borneo Post)

Quarantine mandatory for all Malaysians entering Sarawak (NST)

MOHE: University & College Students Fully Return To Campus Beginning This July (TRP)

Minister: Students, Teachers & Lecturers Get MAS Discount For All Domestic Flights (TRP)

Share your thoughts with us on TRP’s Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

14 − eight =

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd