Now Reading
5 More Highways To Participate In Open Toll Payment System

5 More Highways To Participate In Open Toll Payment System

This brings a total of 11 highways agreeing to implement the open toll payment system to allow road users to pay the toll by other means.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Five more highways have agreed to participate in implementing the open toll payment system that’s set to begin in mid-September.

The five highways are:

  • Damansara-Puchong Expressway (LDP)
  • SPRINT Highway
  • Shah Alam Expressway (Kesas)
  • SMART Tunnel
  • Kuala Lumpur-Putrajaya Expressway (MEX)

These highways are in addition to the other six highways, including the Butterworth-Kulim Expressway, which will start accepting credit and debit cards for toll payments.

In total, there will be 11 highways participating in the open toll payment system.

READ MORE: 5 Highway Tolls To Accept Credit And Debit Card Payment

On Facebook, Works Minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi said the open payment system will be implemented in phases involving various concession companies.

Negotiations are still underway by the ministry to ensure a successful implementation of the Multi Lane Fast Flow (MLFF) system.

Nanta said the Sungai Besi Expressway would be the first location for the implementation of the MLFF’s Proof of Concept (POC) at the end of October 2023.

Once the Proof of Concept is evaluated, only then the MLFF system will be implemented on all highways nationwide.

In the meantime, the government is also in negotiations with other concession companies to get the second POC location.

Share your thoughts with us on our FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd