Now Reading
What is Bundaberg And Is It Halal? All You Need To Know Right Here

What is Bundaberg And Is It Halal? All You Need To Know Right Here

All Bundaberg beverages have a residual alcohol level of less than 0.5%, as stated on their website.

bundaberg halal atau tidak

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

When it comes to food and beverages, what is most important to note is the difference between a product having a certified halal logo and the halal status of what you’re about to consume.

Just because something is not certified halal does not mean it is haram. For instance, the nasi lemak sold by Mak Jah down the road from your house clearly has no halal certificate but that doesn’t make her food haram.

So what about Bundaberg? An old-time favourite but only recently hit social media sparking a debate over its halal status.

Halal certification is an important aspect to consider, especially in a Muslim majority country such as Malaysia.

Bundaberg, which originates from Australia, is a family-owned business that specialises in craft brewed premium soft drinks.

Some of their best-selling flavours include Traditional Lemonade, Pink Grapefruit, and Guava as well as the Malaysian favourite, root beer.

Diving deeper into Bundaberg’s official website, it is stated under their frequently asked questions section that the beverages do contain tiny residues of alcohol.

Our manufacturing process uses natural yeast which feeds on sugars and ferments the ‘brew’ to be used as a base for our beverages. Alcohol is a by-product of this fermentation process. Before we fill the product into bottles we heat the brew to above 70 degrees Celsius to kill the yeast, halt the fermentation process, and remove the alcohol. After this heating process all of our products have a residual alcohol level of less than 0.5%.

Bundaberg FAQs

In the past, Bundaberg has also stated that their products have not been Halal or Kosher certified due to the small number of requests they receive.

That being said, a viral Tweet by Twitter user @jnmalaysia showed a picture of Bundaberg products being labelled as non-halal at an unidentified supermarket, causing heated arguments among netizens.

While some argued that not all brewed drinks contained alcohol, others explained that Islam allows any ethanol produced by natural fermentation and less than 1% as a preserving agent and its halal status is allowed.

READ HERE: Irsyad Al-Fatwa Series 290: The Ruling Of Food Coloring Containing 20% Alcohol

Twitter user @hemimeai said:

This drink’s alcohol percentage is allowed in Islam. It’s like tapai (a fermented rice dish) too.

@hemimeai via Twitter

Twitter user @H_Bakkaniy explained that the supermarket in question labels it as not halal because Bundaberg does not have halal verification from the Malaysian Islamic Development Department (JAKIM) nor is it recognised by them.

In regards to its contents, if it is not made with the method of making liquor or is not produced in a factory that produces liquor and is alcohol-free then it can be considered halal for consumption despite the lack of a halal certification.

@H_Bakkaniy via Twitter

Either way, it is  important to always check the ingredients of any beverage or food before consuming it and to be aware of the potential presence of non-halal ingredients.

Share your thoughts with us via TRP’s FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Get more stories like this to your inbox by signing up for our newsletter.

© 2024 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd