Now Reading
Sacked Tian Chua Gets 14 Days To Submit Dismissal Appeal

Sacked Tian Chua Gets 14 Days To Submit Dismissal Appeal

Tian Chua was sacked after contesting as an independent candidate against his party’s wishes during the 15th general election (GE15).

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Former PKR vice-president Tian Chua has been sacked by his party for contesting as an independent in the 15th General Election (GE15).

However, PKR secretary-general Saifuddin Nasution Ismail said Tian Chua can still submit an appeal against his dismissal within 14 days and the appeal board will examine the basis of the request.

After getting sidelined by PKR and the Pakatan Harapan (PH) coalition, Tian Chua contested as an independent candidate for the Batu parliamentary seat against 9 other candidates, which included his own party member Prabakaran Parameswaran.

During GE15, party president Anwar Ibrahim said that any PKR member contesting as an independent candidate would be sacked.

At the time, Tian Chua said he was ready for any consequences from his beloved party and explained he decided to contest for the seat independently to ensure it doesn’t fall to PKR’s opponents.

READ MORE: The 10 Candidates Contesting For The Hot Seat In Batu

Four other PKR members were also sacked for contesting in GE15 and the 12th Sarawak state election without the party’s consent.

The other four members are Puah Chee Haur (Parit Buntar branch), Ahmad Tarmizi Ghazali (Gopeng), M Mohganan (Taiping) and Nur Khairunisa Abdullah (Sadong Jaya in Sarawak).

In GE15, Puah and Tarmizi represented Warisan to contest for the Keranji and Chenderiang seats in Perak.

Meanwhile, Mohganan contested for the Taiping parliamentary seat as an independent candidate and Nur Khairunisa, under Parti Sarawak Bersatu, contested for the Sadong Jaya seat during the Sarawak state election.

Share your thoughts with us via TRP’s FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd