Now Reading
Johor PH Seat Distribution Is at 95%, Says Salahuddin

Johor PH Seat Distribution Is at 95%, Says Salahuddin

All component parties are expected to retain the seat that they contested in GE14, while seats contested by its former ally Bersatu will be distributed among the three Peninsula PH parties.

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Johor Pakatan Harapan’s discussion on seat distribution among its component parties is already in the final stage, says the coalition’s state chief Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub.

According to the Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) deputy president, 95% of the allocation has been finalised.

“Amanah will contest in five to six seats, while for myself if there are no issues arises, I will defend the Pulai Parliamentary seat,” Salahuddin told TRP when contacted today.

He however stopped short of naming the other constituencies that Amanah is looking to contest in the upcoming 15th General Election in the state.

In the last general election, Amanah contested two parliamentary seats out of the total 26 available; Pulai and Parit Sulong.

Amanah’s sole parliamentary seat in Johor was won by Salahuddin as the Islamic party’s candidate, Anis Afida Mohd Azli, lost to the incumbent Datuk Seri Noraini Ahmad in a three-cornered tussle for Parit Sulong in GE14.

Meanwhile, a source from DAP, who speaks on condition of anonymity, told TRP that the party is looking to contest around the same number it did during GE14.

“The party stood in six parliamentary seats in the past…so we’re looking to retain the seat while talks of additional seats are still ongoing. I cannot reveal the seats (that were discussed) just yet as it’s a sensitive matter,” said the source.

DAP stood in Labis, Bakri, Ayer Hitam, Kluang, Iskandar Puteri and Kulai parliament seats in the last election, only losing one; the Ayer Hitam seat.

On 1 September, Johor PKR’s chief Rafizi Ramli said that PKR is keen to field at least 14 candidates for the 15th general election.

According to Rafizi, PKR stood in seven parliamentary seats in the last election, winning six of them. The seats are Tebrau, Pasir Gudang, Johor Baru, Sekijang, Segamat, Batu Pahat and Ledang.

“This time round the additional seats were being targeted by the party as Johor will be among the main states to be campaigned by PH come GE15,” Rafizi was quoted as saying by Malay Mail.

He added that the party hoped to contest the seats allocated to Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) in GE14 before the latter sensationally quit from Pakatan Harapan (PH) in 2020.

Yesterday, caretaker Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced the dissolution of the 14th Parliament of Malaysia, paving way for a snap election that must be held within the next 60 days from the dissolution.

Share your thoughts on FacebookTwitter and Instagram!

Get more stories like this to your inbox by signing up for our newsletter.

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd