Now Reading
Tambun Up Next For Anwar? PKR President Doesn’t Rule Out Possibility Of Contesting In Perak For Next GE

Tambun Up Next For Anwar? PKR President Doesn’t Rule Out Possibility Of Contesting In Perak For Next GE

The Tambun seat is currently being held by Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Ahmad Faizal Azumu, who is also the Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) deputy-president.

Ikhwan Zulkaflee

Subscribe to our new Telegram channel for the latest updates and stories.

Opposition Leader and PKR president Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim does not rule out contesting the Tambun parliamentary seat in the upcoming 15th general election (GE15).

Anwar, who is previously synonymous with the Permatang Pauh constituency, is now the current Port Dickson representative, after winning the seat in a by-election in October 2018.

But Anwar said that the Tambun seat was proposed to him by his own party members, however adding that no decision was made on the matter yet.

According to a Bernama report, Anwar said that PKR’s current focus is to identify the number of winnable seats to be contested and strengthening its election machinery to prepare for the next GE.

 “What do you think? If you say I can, I will think about it. That is a suggestion that I am considering.

“The PKR Tambun branch has suggested this, but I have not decided on it while my friends in Port Dickson are appealing for me to remain there,” he was quoted as saying.

Anwar said this after the Perak PKR Leadership Council (MPN) meeting last night.

The idea for Anwar to contest the Tambun seat was mooted by Tambun PKR division chief Muhamad Arafat Varisai Mahamad who said that he will make way for Anwar to contest there.

This was also agreed upon in the PKR Tambun division’s annual general meeting.

Anwar however said that Perak PKR’s GE15 candidates would be decided by the party’s Presidential Council meeting.

Meanwhile, Tanjung Malim MP and PKR vice-president Chang Lih Kang were announced as the Perak MPN chairman by Anwar yesterday.

Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Ahmad Faizal Azumu is the current Tambun elected representative.

The Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) deputy-president, fondly known as Peja, won the Tambun seat in a three-cornered contest in GE14 involving Ahmad Husni Mohamad Hanadzlah (BN – UMNO) and Muhamad Zulkifli Mohamad Zakaria (PAS).

In GE14, the former Perak menteri besar, won the seat with a 5,320 majority.

Share your thoughts on TRP’s FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd