Now Reading
GE15: New Malaysia Record As 369 Parliamentary Candidates Lost Their Deposit Money

GE15: New Malaysia Record As 369 Parliamentary Candidates Lost Their Deposit Money

A candidate needs to deposit RM10,000 for a Parliament seat and RM5,000 for a state seat.

Fernando Fong

Subscribe to our Telegram channel for the latest stories and updates.

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad may have lost his deposit in Langkawi, but he is not walking alone.

The grand old man of Malaysian politics is but one of the 369 candidates for the parliamentary seats who lost their deposit.

They lost their deposit after receiving less than one-eighth of the votes counted in the 15th General Election (GE15).

Dr Mahathir, competing in Langkawi on a Pejuang ticket, failed to defend the seat for the second term when he won only 4,566 lots out of a total of 48,123 votes in a five-way contest.

Besides Dr Mahathir, the chairperson of the Gerak Tanah Air movement (GTA), his son, Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir, also lost his money.

Mukhriz failed to defend the seat of the Jerlun Parliament when he only won 3,144 votes after his defeat to the Perikatan Nasional (PN) candidate Dr Abd Ghani Ahmad.

His fellow GTA candidate, Datuk Marzuki Yahya, lost his deposit when he failed to take the Sungai Petani seat from Pakatan Harapan (PH).

This closely-fought election also saw several other ‘big names’ losing their deposit money, including former Minister of Plantation, Industries and Commodities.

She only garnered 4,589 votes in Ampang, while former Minister of Communications and Multimedia Datuk Zahidi Zainul Abidin also lost his deposit (1,939 votes).

Among the celebrities and social activists who have lost their money are film director Ahmad Idham Ahmad Nadzri, who competed in the Port Dickson Parliament representing GTA and independent candidate Abdul Rani Kulup Abdullah.

Meanwhile, the highest number of candidates who lost their deposit money in one Parliament area is the Batu Parliament.

Eight of the 10 candidates competing lost their deposit.

They are independent candidates Siti Zabedah Kasim, Nur Fathiah Syazwana Shaharuddin or also known as Cleopatra, former PKR vice president Chua Tian Chang (Tian Chua), Too Cheng Huat, Wan Azliana Wan Adnan (Pejuang), Naganathan Pillai (Warisan), Mohd Zulkifli Abdul Fattah (Parti Rakyat Malaysia) and Datuk A. Kohilan Pillay (BN).

PH candidate Gobind Singh Deo obtained the highest number of votes of 142,875 for the Damansara Parliament seat beating two challengers who all lost their deposits.

Meanwhile, the Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) candidate Roy Angau Anak Gingkoi won with the smallest majority, with only 100 votes.

He secured 6,644 votes in a four-way battle in which an opponent lost his deposit.

Share your thoughts with us via TRP’s FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

© 2021 The Rakyat Post. All Rights Reserved. Owned by 3rd Wave Media Sdn Bhd