ALOR STAR, Feb 22, 2016:

Nine Kedah state assemblymen were sworn in today as state executive councillors, all of them having been retained from the state executive council led by former Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir.

They took their oath of office before the Chairman of the Kedah Council of Regency, Tan Sri Tunku Sallehuddin Sultan Badlishah, at Istana Anak Bukit here.

The assemblymen are Datuk Dr Ku Abdul Rahman (Guar Cempedak), Datuk Suraya Yaacob (Sungai Tiang), Datuk Tajul Urus Mat Zain (Tanjung Dawai), Datuk Badrul Hisham Hashim (Kuala Nerang), Datuk Mohd Rawi Abd Hamid (Ayer Hangat), Datuk Mohd Tajudin Abdullah (Belantik), Datuk Noorsabrina Mohd Noor (Bandar Baharu), Datuk Aminuddin Omar (Jitra) and Datuk Dr Leong Yong Kong (Gurun).

Two other members of the Council of Regency, Tan Sri Tunku Intan Shafinaz Tuanku Abdul Halim and Tan Sri Tunku Abdul Hamid Thani Ibni Alhmarhum Sultan Badlishah, were also present at the ceremony, along with Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Bashah Md Hanipah.

Ahmad Bashah is scheduled to announce the portfolios of the state executive councillors at a Press conference at his office at Wisma Darulaman after the swearing-in ceremony.

In the previous state executive council, Ku Abdul Rahman was in charge of industries and investments, domestic trade, consumer affairs and cooperatives while Suraya handled women development, agriculture and agro-based industry, entrepreneur development and social welfare and Tajul Urus was in charge of education, transportation and housing.

Local government, water supply, water and energy resources and non-government organisations portfolio was under Badrul Hisham. Mohd Rawi looked after religion, Siamese community affairs, tourism, heritage and works while Mohd Tajudin dealt with information, rural development and poverty eradication.

Noorsabrina handled science, innovation and information technology, communications, high technology and information resources while Aminuddin held the youth and sports, arts and culture, and human development portfolio. Dr Leong was in charge of environment, Chinese and Indian community affairs, and unity.

The swearing-in of the new state executive council members follows the appointment of Ahmad Bashah as the new Menteri Besar on Feb 4.

Mukhriz resigned as the Menteri Besar a day earlier after citing loss of majority support in the state legislative assembly.

This followed an announcement by several senior Umno leaders in Kedah that they had lost confidence in Mukhriz as the Menteri Besar and head of the Kedah Umno liaison committee.

Mukhriz, who is the state assemblyman for Ayer Hitam, was the only one out of the 21 Barisan Nasional assemblymen in the state who was absent from the swearing-in ceremony today.

Related Posts

Related Posts

Related Posts

Next Post