KUCHING, Feb 8, 2016:

Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) wants to contest in 21 state seats in the upcoming Sarawak state election.

In a statement issued here today, SUPP president Senator Datuk Prof Dr Sim Kui Hian announced the first list of its 16 “credible and most winnable candidates” for the election.

Dr Sim said SUPP was fully aware that the party had to be strong in order to strengthen the leadership of Chief Minister Tan Sri Adenan Satem and Sarawak Barisan Nasional (BN).

“In this respect, SUPP has identified 21 credible and most winnable candidates for seats in the coming Sarawak election.

“Therefore, SUPP takes this joyous and auspicious Chinese New Year occasion to announce its candidates for the 16 Chinese-majority seats to the Adenan Team within the framework of Sarawak BN,” said the statement.

Dr Sim, the cardiologist-turned-politician, said party deputy president Datuk Seri Richard Riot Jaem would announce the candidates for the five Bumiputera-majority seats.

“These include one new seat allocated to SUPP under BN’s sharing formula to be announced together with me in due course. Datuk Francis Harden Hollis will represent N32 – Simanggang as the incumbent,” he said.

In the list of candidates released today by Dr Sim, who is the son of former Sarawak Deputy Chief Minister Tan Sri Sim Kheng Hong, he is expected to contest the Batu Kawa or Batu Kitang seat.

Besides Dr Sim, another two candidates for Batu Kawa or Batu Kitang are Tan Joo Phoi and Lo Khere Chiang

SUPP also announced Robert Lau Hui Yew as candidate for the Bawang Assan seat, which is currently represented by United People’s Party (UPP) president Datuk Seri Wong Soon Koh.

UPP is a spin-off of the SUPP.

Related Posts

Related Posts

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/share/nginx/html/wp-content/themes/jnews/class/Module/ModuleViewAbstract.php on line 355

Related Posts

Next Post