PUTRAJAYA, April 10 , 2015:

The Rompin parliamentary by-election will be held on May 5, Election Commission (EC) chairman Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof announced today.

Nomination for the by-election has been set for April 22 and early voting, on April 30, he told a news conference here.

The by-election is being held following the death of the Barisan Nasional (BN) MP Tan Sri Dr Jamaluddin Jarjis in a helicopter crash in Semenyih last Saturday.

Abdul Aziz said the constituency had 53,294 registered voters, comprising 52,744 ordinary voters, 545 early voters and five absentee voters.

Jamaluddin, who was the chairman of Perumahan Rakyat 1Malaysia (PR1MA), had held the seat for 23 years. In the general election in 2013, he retained it with a majority of 15,114 votes, beating former Wanita PAS chief Nuridah Mohd Salleh.

Abdul Aziz said Rompin land and district officer Datuk Fadzilla Fadzilla Salleh had been appointed the returning officer for the by-election.

Five people had been appointed assistant returning officers and six enforcement teams would be set up to monitor the by-election campaign, he added.

Abdul Aziz said the Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Silver Jubilee Hall would be used for the nomination and tallying of votes while 35 schools and three community halls would be used as polling centres, providing 119 polling streams.

The Rompin by-election will be the ninth by-election after the general election on May 5, 2013.

The eight by-elections held thus far were for the Kuala Besut state seat in Terengganu (July 24, 2013); Sungai Limau state seat in Kedah (Nov 4, 2013); Kajang state seat in Selangor (March 23, 2014); Balingian state seat in Sarawak (March 29, 2014); Bukit Gelugor parliamentary seat in Penang (May 25, 2014); Teluk Intan parliamentary seat in Perak (May 31, 2014); Pengkalan Kubor state seat in Kelantan (Sept 25, 2014) and Chempaka state seat in Kelantan (March 22, 2015).

The 10th by-election, for the Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat in Penang, will be held on May 7.

Abdul Aziz said early voting would be held at four centres — the Seri Ibam Hall of the Royal Malaysian Air Force 322 Squadron in Bukit Ibam and at the Muadzam Shah, Rompin and Tekek (Pulau Tioman) police stations.

He also said that 987 people would be appointed as election workers to conduct the by-election and that the total cost of the by-election would be RM1.91 million.

Abdul Aziz said the EC was considering the possibility of appointing observers for the by-election from among local non-governmental organisations if there were requests.

Replying to a question, he said the EC had wanted to hold the Rompin by-election on the same date as the Permatang Pauh by-election, on May 7, but found out that it was a public holiday in Pahang for Hari Hol in remembrance of the demise of Sultan Abu Bakar, the fourth sultan of Pahang.

As May 5 is a working day, Abdul Aziz requested employers in the public and private sector to give enough time off from work for their employers to cast their ballots.

“Section 25 (3) of the Election Offences Act 1954 provides for a fine of up to RM5,000 or a maximum of a year’s jail for employers who prohibit their employees from voting,” he said.

Related Posts

Related Posts

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/share/nginx/html/wp-content/themes/jnews/class/Module/ModuleViewAbstract.php on line 355

Related Posts

Next Post