By SM Amin


The Election Commission (EC) has fixed May 31 as the date for the Teluk Intan parliamentary seat by-election.

EC chairman Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof, in making the announcement today, said the date for early voting will be May 27 while nomination day is on May 19.

He said this after a meeting to discuss the by-election at the EC headquarters here.

According to Aziz, the 2013 electoral roll will be used for this by-election, which was updated until May 1 this year.

The Teluk Intan by-election was necessitated following the death of its parliamentarian, DAP’s Seah Leong Peng, 48, from cancer, at the University Malaya Medical Centre last Thursday.

During the last general election, Seah defeated Gerakan president Datuk Mah Siew Keong of Barisan Nasional (BN) and independent candidate K. Moralingam with a majority of 7,313 votes.

Related Posts

Related Posts

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/share/nginx/html/wp-content/themes/jnews/class/Module/ModuleViewAbstract.php on line 355

Related Posts

Next Post