By Sandra Sokial


United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko) acting president Datuk Madius Tangau has decided to retain all 18 supreme council members appointed by his former boss, Tan Sri Bernard Giluk Dompok, recently.

He made the decision after chairing the supreme council meeting at Upko’s headquarters in Penampang yesterday, which also marked his first official duty as the party’s acting president following Dompok’s retirement on March 21, after 20 years at the helm of Upko.

“As Upko’s acting president, in accordance with Article 21 (i) (m) and Article 21 (iii), and in respect of the former president’s request to maintain the status quo of the current leadership, I have decided to reappoint all leaders to help lead the party towards greater heights,” said Tangau.

Among those reappointed were Datuk Seri Wences Angang as the vice-president, Datuk Donald Mojuntin (secretary-general), Datuk Marcus Mojigoh (honorary treasurer), Albert Bingkasan (information chief) and Datuk Wong Thien Fook (organising secretary).

Tangau said in terms of seniority among the five elected vice-presidents, it should be in accordance with the number of votes received during the party polls on Oct 22 last year.

Therefore, Datuk Siringan Gubat is the most senior vice-president, followed by Datuk Bobbey Suan, Mojigoh, Masiung Banah and Senator Datuk Dr Lucas Umbul.

“I am aware that there are three more vacant posts, namely one vice-president and two in the supreme council, but I was just handed the duty, so allow me to have some time to decide. I will fill all vacancies as soon as possible,” he said.

Related Posts

Related Posts

Related Posts

Next Post