Close Share

PUBLISHED: Mar 26, 2017 10:54am

TMJ acts quickly to revive Malaysian football after winning FAM presidency


Source: Bernama Source:

Adjust Font Size:

PETALING JAYA, 26 March 2017:

Former Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT) coach Mario Gomez has been appointed as the new chief coach of Harimau Malaysia (national football squad), replacing Datuk Datuk Ong Kim Swee.

Meanwhile, Kim Swee has been entrusted the task of coaching the national Under-23 squad.

The development saw the ouster of U-23 coach, Frank Bernhardt from the FA of Malaysia’s (FAM) football development plans under the new leadership of FAM headed by the Tunku Mahkota of Johor (TMJ) Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim.

Tunku Ismail, in his first media conference after winning the president’s post unopposed during FAM’s 53rd Congress here yesterday, said Gomez was given full trust and freedom to form a national team including picking his own assistants.

“Mario Gomez has been appointed as the new national head coach and I will give him the freedom to choose his assistants. Meanwhile, Datuk Ong Kim Swee will take over the U-23 squad.

“Obviously, I will monitor his work and the performance of the national team. If there is no improvement in the style of gameplay and performance, then we have to change.”

In the meantime, he explained the dismissal of Bernhardt was due to their different ideologies and working styles. “I can’t work with him, we have very different views and ways of working.”

FA of Selangor (FAS) president Datuk Seri Subahan Kamal and Melaka United Association (MUSA) deputy president Datuk Wira Mohd Yusoff Mahadi were elected as the new deputy presidents at FAM at its 53rd Congress.

Incumbent Datuk Seri Afandi Hamzah lost in the three-cornered fight for the two deputy president posts. Subahan obtained 37 votes, Mohd Yusoff 33 votes while Afandi only six (votes).

Of the nine candidates in the fray for the four vice president posts, FA of Sabah treasurer Mohd Joehari Mohd Ayob led the field with 34 votes – followed by FA of Negeri Sembilan general manager Datuk Ab Ghani Hassan (29),FAM Ticketing and Gates Committee chairman Datuk S.Sivasundram (28) and FA of Kelantan vice president Datuk Rosmadi Ismail (20).

As for the eight seats in the executive council, Royal Malaysia Police Management Department deputy director (administration) SAC Datuk Azisman Alias polled the highest votes, 33.

FA of Kedah (KFA) honorary secretary Datuk Aminuddin Omar pula obtained 30 votes followed by FA of Kuala Lumpur executive committee member Datuk Mohd Hisamudin Yahaya (29) and KFA vice president Datuk Jeferey Low Han Chow (28).

And for the first time a candidate who represents the media also got on board namely Shekhinah PR chief executive officer Christopher Raj (25). The others voted in were Supt Mohd Dali Wahid (25), Selangor Malays Football Association president Mohd Firdaus Mohamed (21) and FAM Referees Committee chairman Subkhiddin Mohd Salleh FAM (21).

The two slots for women were won by Malaysian Netball Association president Datuk Suraya Yaacob and Shafizah Umamah Abdul Mutalib. They polled 24 and 18 votes respectively.

Thirty-eight delegates picked the leaders for the 2017-2021 term.

TMJ, who transformed Johor club Johor Darul Ta’zim into a household name in Asia, won the president’s post unopposed following his challenger Tan Sri Annuar Musa, the advisor to the FA of Kelantan, pulling out at the eleventh hour.



How do you like the new site

Leave your feedback here.

Have a story worth sharing?

Send us your details here.

Copyright © 2015 The Rakyat Post

Terms of Use ›   Privacy Policy ›   Contact ›